Main | Car rent | Tours | Feedback | Kyrgyzstan | About us | Contact us

General info

General info 

Kyrgyzstan is a beautiful country in Central Asia bordering on countries such as Kazakhstan in the north, Uzbekistan on the west, Tajikistan in the south and China on its East and South-East. It is a former Republic of the Soviet Union received its independence in 1991 and since then it is a democratic Presidential Republic. Bishkek was formerly named Frunze, it is the capital with a population of more than 1 million people. The country as a whole has about 5 million inhabitants and the area of 198.500 km2.

Bishkek - 74 (East (Similar to New Delhi).
Bishkek - 42 (North Similar to Istanbul, Madrid, New York. 

Highest point reaches 7437 m and known as Pobeda Peak
Lowest point makes 401 m and found in Lailak district in the Ferghana Valley
Average elevation makes 2750 m
Elevation of Bishkek is about 750 m 
93% of Kyrgyzstan located higher than 1500 m above sea level, and 41% above 3000 meters. 

198,500 sq. km (76641 sq. miles)
The landscape is similar to England and roughly equal to the combined areas of Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands.
925 km East-West: 453 km North-South 
The total length of Kyrgyzstan's borders makes 4508 km.

Neighboring Countries 
China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan. 

6 million 
Density  of the population is 24 per sq. km    
38% are urban, 62% rural
51% are female, 49% male
About one fifth of the population lives and works in Bishkek.
The Kyrgyz make up just over 50% of the population. The major ones are among 70 other nationalities:     
The Russians (17%), Uzbeks (13%), Ukrainians, Germans and Tatars.
40% of the population goes under 14 years old and 8% of the population is over 60 years old.

Muslim (of Sunni branch), and Russian Orthodox.

State language is Kyrgyz belonging to Turkish group of languages. Official is Russian, (In common use especially in the capital and Northern region).

Life Expectancy 
According to 1995 statistics: Male: 62.9 - Female: 70.6

National symbols:
They are flag and a state emblem.

Administrative structure: 
The territory of the country is divided into 7 administrative districts. There are 7 regions locally known as "oblasts":
Chu Oblast,
Issyk-Kul Oblast,
Talas Oblast,
Naryn Oblast,
Osh Oblast,
Djalal-Abad Oblast,
Batken Oblast,
and the capital district of Bishkek.
The oblasts are divided into 39 districts. Bishkek has 4 districts. The districts consist of a total of 429 local communities (locally known as ail okmotu).

Membership of international organizations: 
Kyrgyzstan is a part of United Nations and its specialized agencies such as UNDP, UNESCO, UNICEF, UNIDO, UNHCR), IOM, Central Asian Economic Community, World Bank, WHO, FAO, ILO; CIS, GIS, ECO,IMF, EBRD, IDB, ICAO, OECD, OSCE, Intelsat, WTO - World Trade Organization, WTO World Tourism Organization, Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).